Skip to content

CBC News' Adrienne Arsenault among Canadian Screen Awards winners at industry gala

CBC's The National news anchor Adrienne Arsenault smiles during a rehearsal in Toronto on Wednesday, November 1, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Nathan Denette

TORONTO — CBC News anchor Adrienne Arsenault and reporter Jorge Barrera of "The National" took home two of the top news prizes at the first of several industry galas for the Canadian Screen Awards.

Arsenault was named best national news anchor and Barrera was named best national reporter, while "Adrienne Arsenault Reports: Inside Ukraine" claimed best news or information program award.

Best national newscast went to "CTV National News with Omar Sachedina" while "CTV's Power Play with Vassy Kapelos" took home the prize for best political news program or series, and Global News's "Decision Alberta 2023" won best live news special.

APTN won best news or information series for "APTN Investigates," and its episode "Reawakening the Mountain" was awarded best photography, news or information.

In sports, TSN won best live sports event for both the 2022 Grey Cup and the 2023 IIHF World Junior Gold Medal Game, while Sportsnet won best direction of a live sports event for the 2023 Stanley Cup Final Game 5.

The gala was the first of several to celebrate the best in Canadian film, television and digital media, with TV craft and acting trophies among the awards set for Wednesday. Marquee categories including best film, best TV comedy and best TV drama are set for Friday.

Ahead of Tuesday's award show, the head of the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television said Friday's afternoon gala won't air to home audiences live but will be "live-to-tape." Nominees will be celebrated at the two-hour bash in front of a live audience, and parts of the gala will be packaged as a one-hour telecast on CBC and CBC Gem that evening.

Academy CEO Tammy Frick said the broadcast will include taped elements for the special award tributes and highlights of this week's galas, but "the majority of the show will very much feel like a live show."

Frick said taped tributes include one by Oscar-winning German composer Hans Zimmer, who will salute Montreal filmmaker Denis Villeneuve as he will be presented with the Academy Icon Award on Friday.

The clip will see Zimmer conduct an orchestral performance from the score he composed for Villeneuve's epic, two-part film "Dune." The two also worked together on Villeneuve's 2017 film "Blade Runner 2049."

Frick said the academy "listened" to feedback on last year's pre-taped telecast, which drew criticism from industry figures including Eugene Levy, who argued Canadian creators deserved a live celebration.

She added that beyond broadcast ratings, the academy is focusing on how well clips of the show will perform on social media – and "the energy of an in-person show" will lend itself to that.

"I think the tone of the show will be very different in (that) it will feel very in-the-moment," Frick said Tuesday.

In other trophies handed out Tuesday, Kevin Bieksa of Sportsnet's "Hockey Night in Canada" was named best sports analyst and the network's "Serge Ibaka's How Hungry Are You?: Giannis Antetokounmpo" won best sports program or series.

In entertainment, the now defunct "Entertainment Tonight Canada" won best entertainment news program or series, and 'ET Canada Live" won for best live production on social media.

CBC's "This Hour Has 22 Minutes: This Special Has 30 Years" won best variety or entertainment special, while Simu Liu was recognized as best host of a live entertainment special for hosting the 2023 Juno Awards.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published May 28, 2024.

Alex Nino Gheciu, The Canadian Press

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks