Skip to content

Three Foothills principals receive provincial recognition

Principals Karla Davis, Scott Flintoft and Debbie Payne to receive Distinguished Leadership Award.
Karla Davis, Scott Flintoft and Debbie Payne are recipients of the Alberta Teachers' Association Council for School Leadership (CSL) Distinguished Leadership Award.

Foothills School Division has announced three of its principals have been selected as recipients of the Alberta Teachers' Association Council for School Leadership (CSL) Distinguished Leadership Award. 

The award recognizes school leaders who demonstrate exemplary leadership skills and contribute to the overall well-being of students, staff and the wider community.  

The recipients include: 

Karla Davis, principal at Millarville Community School in Millarville  

Davis’ professional passion for inquiry-based learning where students are agents of their own learning and partners in the learning process has been at the core of her teaching and leadership in the school community. 

“Being a school principal and teacher has been rewarding and learning alongside so many educators and students in this country and abroad has been truly fulfilling,” Davis said. “Thank you for this honour; it serves as a significant milestone in my lifelong learning journey.” 

Scott Flintoft, principal at Red Deer Lake School in Foothills County  

Flintoft has been an innovative leader who has fostered a culture of collaboration, creativity and inquiry among his staff and students. Flintoft’s instructional leadership is characterized by strong abilities to create a positive culture across the school, communicate well with families and schools, support inclusive education practices, and plan engaging learning experiences for diverse student needs.  

“Receiving this award for school leadership is a great honour and a testament to the collective effort of the entire Red Deer Lake community,” he said. “I'm grateful for the opportunities to contribute to this supportive and engaged community with our school’s larger team.” 

Debbie Payne, principal at Turner Valley School in Diamond Valley  

Payne has been a passionate advocate for rural education and community engagement who aims to provide a dynamic, welcoming space with diverse academic and extra-academic options for students.  

“I am humbled that my leadership is worthy of recognition and I am reminded that leadership is not about titles or accolades. It's about leading with purpose, compassion and resilience every single day,” Payne said. 

The three principals will be honoured by the Foothills School Division board of trustees at a recognition luncheon on June 5. They will also attend the provincial CSL Gala in Edmonton on June 7, where they will receive their awards and join other distinguished leaders from across Alberta.  

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks